RSS Feed

Say you got a wild hair: Yes, TOTO, Hall and Oates, and Desmond Dekker

0

April 26, 2015 by gaughin

So, how about looking at a method for ranking musical artists by looking at the best of their records? I would probably prefer a focus on albums, but let’s try it just this time with singles, specifically with regard to the bands mentioned in the title of this post. So I combed through their singles, and for each band I picked 10 that I like. Then I took those 40 songs, and ranked them from top to bottom. After ranking them, I awarded points to each group as follows; I gave 40 points for the overall number 1, 39 for number 2, and so on down to 1 point for number 40. So, just for curiosity, and not at all because I am trying to gig a blowhard on a Facebook list trying to make a claim for TOTO as the musical masters of the universe, here’s what it looks like.

 

1 Yes   I’ve Seen All Good People
2   Yes America
3   Hall and Oates Private Eyes
4   Yes Sweet Dreams
5   Toto Rosanna
6   Yes Run Through the Light
7   Yes Your Move
8   Yes Yours Is No Disgrace
9   Yes Roundabout
10   Hall and Oates Kiss on My List
11   Yes And You and
12   Toto Georgy Porgy
13   Hall and Oates Did It in a Minute
14   Yes Looking Around
15   Desmond Dekker Everybody Join Hands
16   Hall and Oates Family Man
17   Yes Dear Father
18   Desmond Dekker The Song We Used to Sin
19   Desmond Dekker Rudie Got Soul
20   Hall and Oates Jingle Bell Rock
21   Desmond Dekker Shanty Town
22   Desmond Dekker Busted Lad
23   Desmond Dekker Sing a Little Song
24   Hall and Oates The Way You Do the Things You Do
25   Desmond Dekker Israelites
26   Hall and Oates Alone Too Long
27   Desmond Dekker Get Up Edina
28   Hall and Oates Why Do Lovers (Break Each Other’s Heart?)
29   Toto Don’t Chain My Heart
30   Desmond Dekker Parents
31   Desmond Dekker Please Don’t Bend
32   Toto I Won’t Hold You Back
33   Toto Love Has the Power
34   Toto Mad About You
35   Toto I Will Remember
36   Toto Out of Love
37   Toto I’ll Supply the Love
38   Hall and Oates Camelia
39   Toto Bottom of Your Soul
40   Hall and Oates When the Morning Comes

Finally, awarding points for each song as described, I get this ranking of these four bands/artists.

 

Yes 331
Hall and Oates 192
Desmond Dekker 179
Toto   118

Of course, it’s hard to have an argument with some of these super young dudes; this kid claimed Africa was the first ever World Music hit, then admitted he never even heard of Desmond Dekker (not to mention The Banana Boat Song,) and then he called me a dickhead. I feel like we are going to be great friends!!!


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar