RSS Feed

A New Film Canon

0

June 1, 2013 by gaughin

Hey, I love Citizen Kane. I have seen it many times, I love the Roger Ebert commentary that comes with the Criterion Collection set, it’s a great great movie that I can’t imagine I will ever grow tired of.

And I can accept that it’s the greatest movie ever produced, if that’s even a valid concept, and my OCD wants it to be, so I will compulsively continue to cling to the notion that any group of items can be ranked according to specified criteria, even if that notion of ranking is fundamentally in conflict with the idea of a “pure” art, which is undermined by the requirement that one thing must be better than another. My brain, my very being, needs to list things; it does not necessarily need for you to agree with the order, or even agree that things can be ordered. But if you happen to be entertained by the lists, or the ideas behind the lists, or the jokes I try to ram into the justifications for the lists, then hey, bonus.

So, some 70ish years since Welles released his masterpiece, it is still widely held to be the best film ever produced in dozens of lists utilizing multiple metrics to accomplish the ranking.

But there is a part of me that would like to see a different kind of list, a list that highlights more recently produced great films. I am maintaining the great actor project, an ongoing attempt to recognize the film careers of currently working actors who have achieved the highest levels of lifetime achievement. There’s hundreds of blurbs related to that project on this very blog, although I am several hundred blurbs behind. I have mostly been posting updates to the list on Facebook in recent months. Those have largely consisted of notifications as to who is in the top 1000, and who they replaced, although there’s occasionally a mini-commentary attached. In retrospect, my compulsive over-sharing of this information may have done as much to drive away many of my Facebook friends as my political ravings. Is there anybody out there?

Anyway, one of my Facebook pals, umlaut Jo, asked me if I could rank directors as well as actors. I did that many years ago, and a list of the top 500 or so historical directors is available on this blog. But it’s something that doesn’t take as much work as the actors project (in which I have to determine not only the strength of the film, but also the actors’ prominence; no need to do that for directors.) So I started a new look at directors’ careers, and I am tracking two things. The first is lifetime career achievement  the directors. I am using a different metric for that than for the earlier list. I am simply designating what I feel are the directors’ ten best films, and tallying those films’ ratings. The previous list looked at every film by the director, and actually attached a penalty for bad films. But Scorsese’s going to be remembered for Raging Bull and Goodfellas; no one’s likely to downgrade him because he made Kundun.

If I know the films, I use my own ratings; if not, I consider the collected wisdom of established critics from multiple sources. I run these individual assessments alphabetically, and it took about 10 days to finish the directors whose last names begin with “A”. Here’s the current top ten;

1) Woody Allen

2) Robert Altman

3) Michael Apted

4) Pedro Almodovar

5) Anthony Asquith

6) Michelangelo Antonioni

7) Robert Aldrich

8) Hal Ashby

9) James Nelson Algar

10) Jack Arnold

The second thing the list is going to try to accomplish is a little more ambitious; I am going to rank about half of all the films ever made, using a metric that favors more recent films and more recent filmmakers. It factors in the strength of the individual film, the year the film was released, the lifetime significance of the director’s films, and how “contemporary” the director is, as measured by the year AFTER WHICH half of her/his 10 best films were released. So while I would personally argue that Woody has achieved more with his body of work than AL MO DOH VAH (it must be said dramatically like that, with equal emphasis on each syllable,) Almodovar has a few films that are the equal of Woody’s, and he’s more “contemporary” than Woody, so as of today the top three films on this list are Almodovarified. Here’s a piece of the list, for which I need a good/better name, but I am thinking of it for the moment as “contemporary classics.”

1) Talk to Her – Almodovar
2) All About My Mother – Almodovar
3) Bad Education – Almodovar
4) Short Cuts – Altman
5) 49 Up – Apted
6) Gosford Park – Altman
7) Crimes and Misdemeanors – Allen
8) Midnight in Paris – Allen
9) 56 Up – Apted
10) Volver – Almodovar
11) Hannah and Her Sisters – Allen
12) 42 Up – Apted
13) A Prairie Home Companion – Altman
14) Carlos – Assayas
15) The Player – Altman
16) Irma Vep – Assayas
17) Husbands and Wives – Allen
18) Paris, Je T’Aime – Assayas
19) Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown – Almodovar
20) Broken Embraces – Almodovar
21) Manhattan – Allen
22) La folie Almayer – Akerman
23) 35 Up – Apted
24) Rushmore – Anderson
25) Live Flesh – Almodovar
26) Annie Hall – Allen
27) Nashville – Altman
28) Radio Days – Allen
29) The Purple Rose of Cairo – Allen
30) McCabe & Mrs. Miller – Altman
31) M*A*S*H – Altman
32) 28 Up – Apted
33) Boogie Nights – Anderson
34) There Will Be Blood – Anderson
35) Vincent and Theo – Altman
36) L’Eau Froide – Assayas
37) Incident at Oglala: The Leonard Peltier Story – Apted
38) Thunderheart – Apted
39) The Caine Mutiny Court Martial – Altman
40) Fantastic Mr. Fox – Anderson
41) Clean – Assayas
42) The Law of Desire – Almodovar
43) Ulysses’ Gaze – Angelopoulos
44) The Darjeeling Limited – Anderson
45) The Flower of My Secret – Almodovar
46) Something in the Air – Assayas
47) The Edge of Heaven – Akin
48) Love and Death – Allen
49) Gorillas in the Mist – Apted
50) The Long Goodbye – Altman
51) The Wrestler – Aronofsky
52) Les Destinées – Assayas
53) The Singing Detective – Amiel
54) Sleeper – Allen
55) Magnolia – Anderson
56) Late August, Early September – Assayas
57) Sting: Bring on the Night – Apted
58) Cinema, of Our Time: HHH – Portrait of Hou Hsiao-Hsien – Assayas
59) Mahler on the Couch – Adlon
60) The Royal Tenenbaums – Anderson
61) Eternity and a Day – Angelopoulos
62) Rust and Bone – Audiard
63) Matador – Almodovar
64) Coal Miner’s Daughter – Apted
65) A Prophet – Audiard
66) Soul Kitchen – Akin
67) Bottle Rocket – Anderson
68) Shrek   – Adamson
69) Demonlover – Assayas
70) The Weeping Meadow – Angelopoulos
71) Star Trek Into Darkness – Abrams
72) Punch-Drunk Love – Anderson
73) The Master – Anderson
74) Pelle the Conqueror – August
75) Gandhi – Attenborough
76) The Barbarian Invasions – Arcand
77) The Beat That My Heart Skipped – Audiard
78) The Bear – Annaud

So that’s a thing that should consume my every thought until my dying day.


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar